Alaska Total Loss Threshold
Alaska-Auto-Total-Loss-Threshold-By-Law 🔗 (pdf)
|Rule||Total Loss Formula (TLF)|
|Law||Alaska Admin. Code tit. 2, § 92.170.|
Alaska Total Loss Threshold
29th Legislature(2015-2016) Alaska Admin Code
2 AAC 92.170. Duty of insurance company obtaining title to unrepairable vehicle
(a) An insurance company obtaining title to an unrepairable vehicle through the satisfaction of an insurance claim for an actual total loss or constructive total loss shall mark the word “junk” on the face of the certificate of title and surrender the current title and registration to the department. The insurance company may sell the vehicle by a bill of sale that indicates that the title has been surrendered to the department.
(b) For the purposes of this section,
(1) “actual total loss” means the vehicle is wrecked, dismantled, or destroyed;
(2) “constructive total loss” means the vehicle is damaged to a sufficient degree that the cost of repairing the vehicle exceeds the vehicle’s worth or insured value.
Alaska car insurance requirements
Car insurance in Alaska varies widely by where you drive. Only a fraction of Alaska is accessible by road. Use our map to find out the average state car insurance rates for every city and village in Alaska.
Alaska state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability $50,000/$100,000
Minimum property damage liability $25,000
Rate comparison by Zip code:
Highest rate in Alaska is: $1,931 Lowest rate is: $773
99501- ANCHORAGE: $1,372
99502- ANCHORAGE: $1,372
99513- ANCHORAGE: $1,372
99504- ANCHORAGE: $1,372
99827- HAINES: $1,019
99835- SITKA: $1,019
99829- HOONAH: $1,019
99826- GUSTAVUS: $1,019
Along with Maine, Alaska has the highest minimum required bodily injury liability limits in the U.S. with a minimum of $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, and up to $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
In Alaska, anytime your license is suspended, revoked or limited, you are required by the state to obtain an SR-22 filing as part of your car insurance policy. For most offenses, you must carry the SR-22 for three years.
Coverage lapse: A lapse in coverage can send your car insurance rates skyrocketing in most states. But in Alaska, if you haven’t owned a car, weren’t legally required to carry insurance and haven’t violated the Alaska mandatory insurance act, your lack of prior insurance coverage cannot be considered as a factor in rating your policy.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Alaska: You may be fined from $500 to $1,000, sentenced to 90 days in jail, your license may be suspended and you may be required to file an SR-22 form if you’re in an accident.
Electronic proof of insurance: Alaska is one of 31 states that allow drivers to show proof of insurance on a smartphone during a traffic stop.
Largest Car Insurance Companies in Alaska
|Rank||Company / Group||Direct Premiums Written ($)||Market Share (%)|
|1||State Farm Group||120,557||27.38|
|2||Berkshire Hathaway Insurance||76,982||17.48|
|4||Allstate Insurance Group||64,778||14.71|
|5||Progressive Insurance Group||46,050||10.46|
|6||Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies||14,900||3.38|
|7||Hartford Insurance Group||12,791||2.91|
|8||COUNTRY Financial PC Group||12,300||2.79|
|9||Farmers Insurance Group||7,283||1.65|
|10||Horace Mann Insurance Group||6,750||1.53|